The JCBRN Defence COE Steering Committee met for its spring session from 30 to 31 March 2017 with participation of the Sponsoring Nations’ and Contributing Partner’s representatives from AUT, CZE, FRA, DEU, GBR, GRC, HUN, ITA, POL, ROU, SVK, SVN, USA as well as representatives from ACT, WMD Non-Proliferation Centre and IMS.

The aim of the meeting, which was the first one under the chairmanship of the Centre’s new Director, COL (CZE-A) Vratislav Osvald, was to inform the Nations about the Centre’s current status, to provide the annual budget report and to approve several project proposals for 2018 and 2019. Other discussed topics included the implementation of a Technology and Innovation capability, a possible Centre’s footprint in Brussels at the NATO Headquarters and the Centre’s Vision of Continuous Improvement.

The next Steering Committee Meeting will be held in Vyškov, Czech Republic, from 18 to 19 October 2017.

The Steering Committee is the main decision-making body of the NATO JCBRN Defence COE. It is composed of representatives from each member nation of the Centre. The meeting is held twice a year (spring and autumn) in order to approve the Centre’s Programme of Work and its budget.